DUI Offenses Carry Heavy Penalties 

Spread the love

Driving under the influence of alcohol is illegal in every state, with some states having harsher penalties than others do. The penalties increase after the first DUI offense that can cost thousands in fines and legal fees. The laws for driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs laws are different in every state. The one thing that is not different is that it is illegal and in states like Wisconsin, the blood alcohol content known as BAC at 0.8% or higher is considered legally intoxicated. A first DUI offense can result in a $150 to $300 dollar fine and no jail time, however, a second DUI is much harsher with a $350 to $1100 dollar fine and can result in 5 days to 6 months in jail. A driver that has a third DUI offense the fine is from $600 to $2000 dollars and 45 days to 1 year in jail. The amount of jail time the person serves and how long the driver loses their driving privileges will be up to the judge hearing the case. There are standard guidelines in this state for the driver’s license revocation. The first offense is six to nine months the license is revoked, a second offense 12 to 18 months, and the third DUI offense is a 2 to 3-year license revocation. 

Defense of a DUI 

In a DUI case if there has been no accident and the driver believes they are not guilty of driving under the influence they can fight the charge. This is done with the assistance of a dui attorney milwaukee wi. The attorney specializing in this area of the law can build a defense using information about the time of the charge. If the driver was given a breathalyzer test questions can be asked about when it was calibrated and other factors that could make this test of BAC inaccurate. Some elements of a DUI charge the lawyer can use to build a defense. While there are guidelines in place, it may be possible for the attorney to prove the charge invalid or to the low end of the guidelines. Any of these laws in effect are easy to defend without the assistance of a legal professional who understands how to build the proper defense. 

The Most Recent DUI Law 

In the state of Wisconsin, the most recent DUI law enacted by Governor Walker is the 2017 Senate Bill 135 or known as Wisconsin Act 172. This new law applies to the driver convicted of a fourth DUI. In the event, a driver is convicted of a 4th DUI they can expect if they have had a previous offense within the last 15 years to have their driving privileges revoked for life. There is a way to have driving privileges reinstated after 10 years of the conviction. This is if the person can prove financial responsibility for the future under Statute 344.24. Another part of this requirement is to comply with an assessment 45 days prior to the request for alcohol or drug use.